What is the structure of the Indian Parliament?

Answer By law4u team

The Parliament of India is the supreme legislative body of the country and is bicameral, consisting of two houses: the Lok Sabha (House of the People) and the Rajya Sabha (Council of States). The structure and functions of the Indian Parliament are defined by the Constitution of India. Here's an overview of the structure of the Indian Parliament: 1. Lok Sabha (House of the People): Composition: The Lok Sabha is the lower house of Parliament, and its members are directly elected by the people of India. As of my last knowledge update in January 2022, the maximum strength of the Lok Sabha is 552 members. Of these, up to 530 members represent the states, and up to 20 members represent the Union Territories. Additionally, two members are nominated by the President of India from the Anglo-Indian community if it is felt that they are not adequately represented. Term of Members: Members of the Lok Sabha are elected for a term of five years. The President has the authority to dissolve the Lok Sabha before the completion of its term, leading to the conduct of general elections. Functions: The Lok Sabha is the primary legislative body responsible for the passage of laws and the allocation of financial resources. It has the power to introduce, amend, and pass bills related to various subjects, including finance bills. 2. Rajya Sabha (Council of States): Composition: The Rajya Sabha is the upper house of Parliament, and its members are not directly elected by the people. Members are elected by the elected members of the State Legislative Assemblies, the members of the Electoral College for Union Territories, and the members of the Electoral College for graduates and teachers. Term of Members: Members of the Rajya Sabha are elected for a term of six years. One-third of the members retire every two years, ensuring continuity. Functions: The Rajya Sabha serves as a revising chamber and a forum for the representation of states and Union Territories. It reviews and suggests amendments to bills passed by the Lok Sabha. It also plays a significant role in matters related to the states, constitutional amendments, and international treaties. 3. President of India: Role in Parliament: While the President of India is not a member of either house of Parliament, they play a crucial constitutional role in the legislative process. The President's assent is required for bills to become law, and they can summon or prorogue sessions of Parliament. The President also addresses both houses at the beginning of each session. Sessions and Sittings: Sessions: The Parliament of India conducts sessions, and each year is divided into three sessions: the Budget Session, the Monsoon Session, and the Winter Session. The President can summon both houses for a joint sitting if there is a deadlock on a bill. Sittings: Each session is divided into sittings, during which members discuss and debate bills, motions, and other parliamentary business. The Indian Parliament is a vital institution in the country's democratic system, responsible for making laws, scrutinizing the executive, and representing the interests of the people.

Indian Related Questions

Discover clear and detailed answers to common questions about Indian. Learn about procedures and more in straightforward language.

Law4u App Download